top of page

Never Assume

It's one of the biggest professional lessons I have learned. Never assume. Always double check, always confirm or you will find yourself in adrenaline jolts of panic or embarrassment. And yet, this vital lesson still loves to pop up and shame me every so often -- reminding me to pay homage. Arrival at the Wellington airport was no exception. I suppose in the crazy whirlwind of packing up my L.A. life I didn't give much time to research transportation on the other side. Airports are usually a goldmine of information on that account. Ah ha! You see what I did there? Assumption is a nasty little gremlin. For the nonexistence of an information desk, confused shrugs of rental car employees and a doe-eyed blank stare from the only bus driver around were my hints to a new reality. The one where you look for any human being amidst a deserted parking lot, hoping your wind blasted hair and disheveled clothing is pathetic enough to compel compassion. Apparently, I had reached a new level. For not only one, but four lovely Kiwis come to my rescue. Each contributing to the journey that eventually got me on a bus, to a train station and in to the lovely home in Otaki where I will be waking up in two hours (thank you time zones) to begin my first WWOOFing experience. So far, having my host bring me a steaming cup of hot lemon juice and honey for my cough at 4am while writing this tells me it can't be all bad. Perhaps one thing is safely assumed -- no matter how much we doubt, humanity always loves to have a moment of pure goodness in this suspicious and pained world. I'll drink to that. Cheers.

Featured Posts
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Category
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page