top of page

Most FAQ Answered (Pt. 1/5)


I've been traveling on my own for almost a year and a half now, which has led me to observe quite a few common assumptions I encounter upon people coming in contact with me and my current lifestyle. Here are the top ten in no particular order I thought important to share as well as shed some truth on the matter. They are broken up into five parts for length and convenience. Enjoy!

I AM AN EXPAT

Although the term expat defines people who temporarily or permanently live outside their own country, somehow I have encountered this term to be associated with the assumption that I am not a diehard American. Looking at my passport, the only citizenship I possess is a U.S. one. Living, traveling and working in other countries as an immersive cultural experience does not mean I hate my country or lack resolute patriotism. In fact, traveling is the best action one can do to truly develop a love for one's own country and culture as well as an appreciation and genuine understanding of its history, development and influences (and no, not the "I'm lucky we have more than other countries" complex of gratefulness). Love is not about comparison and weighing who has more. Love is about understanding and knowing the other, the good, the bad and the ugly. You do not overlook the bad, hoping if you are kind enough the bad will simply change or disappear. You boldly confront these negatives in truth and work together to improve, perhaps never perfect, through love. Non? I love my country, just not blindly. Probably more like this example of a best friend (https://youtu.be/Nsup1EbDW2Y).

I LOVE CHANGE

I understand that a lifestyle of shifts almost every two weeks to a month may give the impression that I am a rolling stone thrill seeker. At most it looks exciting, at its very least it is interesting. But, anyone who has lived with me would know this is not the case in any way. Change is one of the hardest life realities for me, ironically, I hate moving. I'm a homegrown cabin girl at heart. Whenever I shift to the next location I have observed I always procrastinate to the panicked end when packing and it always takes a day or two to right myself upon arrival to the next location. I cry, take a long sleep, and after a good walk or exploration I am able to shake off the shifting blues (mixed with "why am I alone?" solo travel challenges). I have gotten quite comfortable in this routine and recognize it, thinking I may have gotten better or stronger until the next major shift arrives and I find I need another day or two to cry, sleep… oh, you get the idea.

Featured Posts
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Category
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page