top of page

Most FAQ Answered (Pt. 3/5)


I've been traveling on my own for almost a year and a half now, which has led me to observe quite a few common assumptions I encounter upon people coming in contact with me and my current lifestyle. Here are the top ten in no particular order I thought important to share as well as shed some truth on the matter. They are broken up into five parts for length and convenience. Enjoy!

I AM A FEMINIST

This one always surprises me. I never considered traveling on my own an action of feminism, it was just circumstances that fell into place and it was in me to do. I encounter this assumption quite a lot. When I want to try something or do something associated stereotypically with men (mechanics seems to be one), my desire is somehow connected to a concept of showing men I can do something. For me, it's not about doing what men can do so I can show I am equal in some way. It's about discovering what I can and cannot do and what my interests are as a woman. I am not a man, I don't want to be a man and I like conquering my own personal challenges as a woman and what that has come to mean to me. It includes my soft voice, dainty wrists, and love for parasols, heels, cooking and cute baby animals. My curiosities outside stereotypes is not some battle to achieve equality, I just want to know. I am curious. The only frustration I encounter is when greeted with demeaning behavior or limitations set by men simply because I do not do or act like them when attempting to learn. That is always a surprise and leads me to think I have been spoiled by the men and women in my life who have always encouraged me to explore any interest or talent, regardless of my gender. Perhaps I am more of a naturalistic feminist or woman purist, if such categories exist.

I AM BRAVE

Men who encounter me usually say "you have balls" or "you are brave" and women usually ask me "aren't you afraid?" I'm not sure if I possess great humility about my character or innocent ignorance to the dangers of traveling solo, but I do not see myself as very brave. I may just be accustomed to doing things on my own, but aren't we all? Did you commute today to work with a travel partner? Did someone hold your hand in the grocery store? If you think about it, our daily "normal" life routines usually possess quite a lot of time that we must approach challenges on our own. Doing it during a travel lifestyle just means more unknown neighborhoods and wrong turns. So am I brave? I think it does take courage to step out of your comfort zone and I have had to learn how to self-soothe a lot with the technology restrictions to close friends and family. But from observation, I think I would say I am adaptable far more than brave. And when I encounter those moments of fear -- of my future, of a dark alley or literally clinging to a cliff -- I do shut my eyes, exhale and whisper one of either two phrases that have become so important to me: "Brave the awkward" or "Seconde souffle (second wind)."

Featured Posts
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Category
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page