top of page

Most FAQ Answered (Pt. 5/5)


I've been traveling on my own for almost a year and a half now, which has led me to observe quite a few common assumptions I encounter upon people coming in contact with me and my current lifestyle. Here are the top ten in no particular order I thought important to share as well as shed some truth on the matter. They are broken up into five parts for length and convenience. Enjoy!

I ONLY EXPERIENCE ADVENTURE

It's true, I've added some interesting stories and skills to my life. From glowworm comparisons of New Zealand and Tasmania to milking cows and shooting possums. This may give the impression that each day is an adventure (as it should be whatever you do). But as I spend more and more time living travel, you begin to see the mundane reveal itself no matter where you are. Not every day is a mind-blowing adventure and I am not always inspired or energetic to go discover the exciting sights and sounds of a new location, or feel the pressure/need to do so. I spent my first two days in Lyon, France eating Nutella and binging out watching Jane Austen YouTube videos. I spent my only day in Zurich mostly chatting with a friend on the bridge, sipping a cappuccino, contemplating the future. But for some reason, when I do these things in a new location, they somehow have achieved exoticism. If I admitted to a Nutella binge online, but from my own apartment, some might suspect depression. I am not arguing that travel isn't adventurous, but more sharing the observation that the mundane exists no matter what or where. Which makes me comfortable with thinking the mundane is just as important as adventure. You need both and I enjoy experiencing different countries in this manner. Normality vs. exotic thrills.

I AM ON A HOLIDAY/GAP YEAR

When people asked me in my 20s, "If money was no option and you didn't have to work, what would you do with your life?" I always answered, "travel and learn languages." Well. Money is one of my top necessities after traveling for so long, however, I am traveling and learning languages. I realize this is far more common and socially acceptable to do at 23 and not 32, the majority of my age group have settled into relationships, careers and/or babies. Many friends I have made along my travels are in the 23-27 age bracket (sometimes younger!), so it can feel odd at times to partner, identify and befriend a separate age group that usually I would be called to mentor. The difference is, they are on a gap year. They are discussing their majors or first jobs. I am not. It's not a gap for me, it's an addition. It's a lifestyle. And how I approach my hosts and experiences reveal that doing this in your 30s has great advantages as opposed to 20s coupled with very awkward, uncomfortable moments. You understand the concept of network and circles at another level and I feel so privileged to have so many adoptive families and dear friends around the globe. They are travelers, they are artists, they are farmers, they are greenies. And they all have added to my life in such a non-flippant manner, I can't believe I would ever forget them or mark them as some location bucket list achievement. No. This is not a holiday. It is not a gap year. It is not a bucket list. It is a lifestyle. Our lifestyles change. From child to adult. Apartment to house. Wife to mother. Right now, I am living travel, not visiting it.


Featured Posts
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Category
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page